Browse themes
About publications

Information for G00040

Adaptation to Climate Change and Least Developed Countries (LDCs)


Document begins: Adaptation to Climate Change and Least Developed Countries (LDCs) What are the LDCs? Three criteria, developed by the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations, are used to determine which countries belong to the LDC group. The first one is the low-income criterion, which is based on a three-year average estimate of the GDP per capita. The GDP per capita must be under US$900 to be included in the LDC group and above US$1,035 to graduate from that group. The second criterion is the human resource weakness criterion, which involves the Augmented Physical Quality of Life Index (APQLI) based on nutrition, health, education and adult literacy indicators. The final criterion is the economic vulnerability criterion, which involves the Economic Vulnerability Index (EVI) based on indicators of: the instability of agricultural production, the instability of exports of goods Figure 1. Location of LDCs and services, the economic importance of non- traditional activities (share of manufacturing and modern services in GDP), merchandise export concentration, and the handicap of economic smallness. Source: UNCTAD. See http://www.unctad.org/ldcs/ Country Population GNP/capita Country Population GNP/capita (millions) (US$) (millions) (US$) Afghanistan 21.4 ­ Angola 12.1 380 Madagascar 15.1 260 Bangladesh 124.8 350 Malawi 10.4 210 Benin ...

Publication information

  • IIED code: G00040
  • Published: 1066
  • Theme: Climate change
  • Language: English

Download and Sharing

Free PDF 110k

Share with your network:

We use cookies to help improve this website. Clicking any link on this site will be taken as your consent to this.